Villa Maya 5 Bedrooms - Oceanfront Villa 200ft Private Shoreline. Private Pool, Cook Service Option

 
 

Property Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Overall satisfaction

Property condition

Location

cleanliness
94% of our reviewers would recommend this property.

Manager rating

Based on 1519 reviews of properties managed by this manager

Overall satisfaction

Property condition

Reviews for this vacation rental property

We visit every two years.

Walter C. from Wichita United States, June 6, 2012

Stayed 10 days in May, 2012

The location is excellent. Diving off the property is wonderful. Things that need corrections are the hot tub was not working. The tolets low water flow needs work. Two of the showers have the hot and cold faucets reversed. You need to write this information on the bathrooms for the guest. For the dollar, it is an excellent value as long as you are willing to serve yourself in the above area's. Also, it offers a nice jogging trail into town, which is a short walk. The Coral Princess, which is next door, offers happy hour and meals.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Another fantastic stay at Villa Maya

Amy K. from Dodge Center United States, March 15, 2012

Stayed 14 days in February, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have rented Villa Maya - first time since Hurricane Wilma. We love the location and it's a perfect property to rent with a large group. We stayed for 2 weeks and had 10 people stay the first week and 14 the second and we never felt crowded. We opted for the meal plan both weeks and weren't sorry. Lucy is a tremendous cook. The food was fantastic. We enjoyed William's service very much as well. We love Villa Maya and the great service we have gotten every time we've been there. We will definately be back! Our only complaint is the beds are way too hard! But who wants to sleep away your vacation anyway; right?

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Anne W. from Winter Springs United States, July 11, 2011

Stayed 7 days in July, 2011

We stayed at the Villa Maya 10 years ago and returned because we had such a good time. The snorkeling at the house is great. We purchased the food plan both times and the food is fabulous. The house staff is very accommodating. We had a great time!

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Great place to go

from Mesa United States, June 27, 2011

Stayed 7 days in June, 2011

All the comforts of a resort.<br/><br/>Things to take note of:<br/>Taking taxis are a lot cheaper than renting two cars. <br/>American dollars are accepted more than credit cards.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

The house and the location is great, but it needs a lot of manitaineWe had a very good cook and she was helpfull and very nice. The house has a great deficiency, odor from the sews (cañería). We didnt have wine glases, the bed sheets are very old .

from Mexico United States, Jan. 19, 2011

Stayed 6 days in December, 2010

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Why I would not stay at The Villa Maya in Cosumel.

Sharon B. from Calgary Canada, Dec. 14, 2010

Stayed 8 days in December, 2010

We contacted At Home In Cozumel Inc to stay at there property Casa Carabina (we had stayed there before and loved it). We had it booked with down payment in place. Then we were told the property was no longer on the market. We were now committed as we had booked our flights. The At Home In Cozumel Inc management offered us the Villa Maya property for the same price. We were told it was a very good property. We felt this would be a good offer and decided to take it. The Villa is a very different lay-out with the pool in the middle. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The living room, eating areas were nice and big. The out door ocean side veranda was nice. The palapa was big and nice. The cleaning lady did a very good job. There were how ever some very big negatives. There was no common bathroom. The kitchen is small and out of the way with no dishwasher. The out door shower that is used for rinsing ocean water and sand off was broken. The hot tub was empty and did not work. The screen doors for the veranda would not close. The one screen continued to come off and blow into the veranda. Every piece of furniture in the house was uncomfortable. The TV was small and had no satellite. Every bed in the house was as hard as the floor. The air conditioner in the kitchen was broken. To some these may seam like small problems, they are not. These are big problems. When you plan, look forward to and spend large amounts of money you expect better accommodations than The Villa Maya can provide. With a little maintenance and some money these problems could be corrected. My thought is: Do Not stay at the Villa Maya.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

from Orlando United States, April 20, 2010

Stayed 3 days in April, 2010

Incredible property - the pictures don't do it justice. You will not be disappointed. I plan on returning for future trips.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Charming Home with Excellent Waterfront Location

Robert M. from Sammamish United States, Feb. 23, 2010

Stayed 8 days in February, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Villa Maya with three other couples. The house was great for a multi-couple trip, as (1) four of the bedrooms have king-sized or queen-sized beds, (2) each bedroom has its own bathroom and shower, and (3) the house has amenities for large groups (e.g., large indoor and outdoor dining tables). <br/><br/>The best thing about this house is the location. It's a rather large waterfront property, and it's only about 1.5 miles north of town. It's also situated right next door to the Coral Princess Hotel, which turned out to be a major bonus. Throughout the day, the Coral Princess' waiters would periodically check in to see if we wanted anything, and they invited us to use their facilities (e.g., hot tub, pool, etc.). We also visited the hotel for breakfast, we rented scuba equipment at their dive shop, we cashed travelers' checks at their front desk, and it was very easy and convenient to catch taxis at the hotel. And, despite the house's close proximity to the hotel, the property was still quiet and private. <br/><br/>The house's waterfront is also a popular snorkeling destination. It's pretty fun to snorkel right in front of the house, and the sea life is pretty abundant there. However, in my view, the snorkeling at that location is a bit overhyped, and it's definitely *not* an adequate substitute for the incredible scuba diving on Cozumel. If you skip the scuba diving on Cozumel in favor of the snorkeling at this location, you'll really be missing out. <br/><br/>Another fun and interesting fact about this property is that it's apparently owned by Don Nassim Juaquin Ibarra, who's a highly respected businessman and power broker on Cozumel. Throughout the trip, we had some fun telling the locals that we were &quot;staying at Don Nassim's house.&quot; It was a great conversation starter. <br/><br/>We also had a really positive experience with the on-site property managers and the property managers at At Home in Cozumel.<br/><br/>That said, in the int

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

The property is located next to the Coral Princess so we have the advantage of all of their amenities as well as the best dive shop on the island Pepe Scuba. Luis and Isabella are wonderful caretakers and couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

from Eagle United States, Dec. 7, 2009

Stayed 7 days in November, 2009

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Wedding Week at Villa Maya

from Edina United States, Oct. 28, 2009

Stayed 7 days in October, 2009

We had our destination Wedding Oct 10, 2009 and everything at Villa Maya was perfect. The house has been well cared for and the ambiance and helpfulness that Isabella and Senor created was fabulous. The wedding families stayed at Villa Maya and the guests stayed at Coral Princess next door. It was a perfect setting for guests to come over to visit with us and vice versa. The Villa is a perfect setting for a beach wedding, there were 60 guests, with the sea as the natural backdrop. Coral Princess was the perfect spot to host the reception. It was fabulous, fun, festive, and simply Mexican beautiful.<br/><br/>This is the third time I have stayed at Villa Maya, highly recommend this home, and will be back soon!

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

We loved our stay. We come back about every two years. The Hotel Princes Coral next door has wonderful meals at a very reasonable price, They also offer drinks, massages etc.

Walter C. from Wichita United States, June 13, 2009

Stayed 10 days in May, 2009

The property is older and sometime the hot water is limited and some of the bedrooms AC's are not what they should be.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Villa Maya review

Carole R. from Pahrump United States, Dec. 16, 2008

Stayed 5 days in December, 2008

Had a wonderful time. Luis and Isabel were fantastic. Spa was great. Food was unbelieveable. Beds were very hard. Other guests with us said they would not go back for this reason. Furniture in general was not comfortable to sit on.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

This location was great

Elizabeth T. from Lakeville United States, Aug. 15, 2008

Stayed 7 days in March, 2007

We rented this facility in the spring of 2007. Our family consisted of my husband, three teenagers and my parents. This location was great as we all could have our own rooms and their was a ton of space. This would be a great place for 5 couples to rent as you would all have plenty of privacy and your own bathrooms but lots of room to socialize. <br/><br/>The place was a little older property but maintained pretty well. We had some outlets not working in one bedroom but the caretakers were very helpful and were responsive to getting this fixed. We did not take advantage of the meal plans as we wanted th freedom to come and go when we pleased. <br/><br/>The beach was great - lots of white sand and so much space you could play volleyball with no problem and still have room. We spent alot of time under the palapya watching the awesome sunsets, watching the cruize ships come in and snorkeling. You can jump right in and see fish and sealife right off this beach. <br/><br/>My kids loved the pool. It was clean and well kept up.<br/> <br/>Having the Coral Princess next store did not invade our privacy as the massage tent is close but they did not disturb us. We liked being on the south end of town away from the busy part of the city. <br/><br/><br/>We originally were going to rent Casa Carebena a quarter mile further down this beach and were very glad we were moved to this location. Casa carabena was taken off the market for upgrades and At Home in Cozumel staff was very upfront with us about the change and made this. At Home in Cozumel went way out of their way to make sure our vacation was taken care of and made sure we had a home that would suit us. This great customer service was so refreshing. I would highly recommend using At Home in Cozumel because of their staff alone. We did book some tours after arriving and they were happy to accomodate us and the manager stopped in several times to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Great House on the Water.

from Allentown United States, Aug. 13, 2008

Stayed 7 days in August, 2008

There was a cockroach and ant problem in the bathrooms and the kitchen. Also the washing machine did not work and there was very limited hot water for showers.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Excellent Location!

Matt P. from Mountain View United States, July 29, 2008

Stayed 6 days in July, 2008

We recently stayed at Villa Maya, and the house was great for our 14 guests! We loved the beach, volleyball court, and the use of the amenities at the Coral Princess Hotel next door. The house is an easy cab ride practically anywhere on the island. I also highly recommend the meal plan, as you can't get better 'home cooked' Mexican Food anywhere!

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Great But

from Gulfport United States, June 30, 2008

Stayed 7 days in June, 2008

House was great location,Esabel, Cindy ,Luis and all cleaning staff were absolutly great. Home needs to have plumbing and bath facilities updated to be top notch. But we enjoyed our stay immensly and will return soon.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

from Baton Rouge United States, May 28, 2008

Stayed 4 days in May, 2008

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Villa Maya

from Rothsay Canada, May 13, 2008

Stayed 7 days in May, 2008

At first glance we were not sure if the children would use the courtyard swimming pool -- they loved it! Unfortunately there were problems with the hot tub,finally we had hot water 2 days before we left. The air conditioners keep us awake, very noisy, one of the rooms remained at 18degrees, not possible to change it. I recommend installing fans -- this would cut down on the power usage. Also, the front porch did not have enough air passing through, removing the glass windows and installing screens would have allowed us to enjoy it more. Now having posted the negatives, here are the positives, we loved the location, Isabella and her husband Luis and Cindy (english speaking granddaughter) were amazing. We had the best Mexican food lovingly prepared and served. Special attention was made to accommodate the children's needs. Snorkeling and diving at the foot of the property was a highlight. We have many fond memories of sitting in the morning with a cup of coffee and watching the cruise ships heading for the dock. Sunsets and evenings under the stars -can't beat it!!

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

from Stewartville United States, April 27, 2008

Stayed 6 days in March, 2008

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

wow what a trip!!!

Darrel S. from Benton United States, April 27, 2008

Stayed 7 days in June, 2007

THIS IS A MUST VACATION FOR GROUPS AND FAMILYS. THE HOUSE IS WONDERFUL, FULLY RECOMEND THE COOK SERVICE, ISSABELLA IS A WONDERFUL COOK AND MOST PLEASANT, ALONG WITH LOUISE BEING THE BEST BARTENDER. THEY MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE FAMILY. CANT WAIT TO GET TO GO BACK. WE GIVE THIS VACATION 5 STARS ALL THE WAY. WE HAD 12 IN OUR GROUP AND EVERYTHING WENT PERFECT.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Marisol R. from Fresh Meadows United States, April 27, 2008

Stayed 5 days in July, 2007

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

from Victoria Canada, April 14, 2008

Stayed 5 days in January, 2008

We were a party of 3 who had a problem with the original accomodations we booked so they moved us to this property. This property will acomodate 11 people so it was not the greatest setup for only 3. The view and location are fabulous. For a large group, it would be a great vacation destination. Once again, the view and location are fabulous!!

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

Great spot.

william m. from jeffersonville United States, April 14, 2008

Stayed 4 days in February, 2008

Just wish the jacuzzi was warm for the evenings when it is cool.

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness

from Bridgeton United States, April 13, 2008

Stayed 7 days in April, 2007

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
cleanliness